Public Affairs Alliance of Iranian Americans .

Election Results for IAPAC Candidates



Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Election Results for IAPAC Candidates

Washington, D.C. - The Iranian American Political Action Committee (IAPAC) announced today that 15 out of the 18 federal candidates it had endorsed in 2008 and were on the November ballot prevailed in the elections. IAPAC congratulates these candidates on their victory and looks forward to working with them in the coming 111th Congress on issues of importance to the Iranian American community.

 A number of the candidates faced particularly challenging elections. Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) won reelection to return to a seat that the Democrats had targeted and eyed as once competitive. Freshman Congressman Patrick Murphy (D-8th/PA) held off a challenge by Tom Manion in a district that the GOP was hoping to regain. Senator Norm Coleman (R-MN) appears to have edged comedian turned politician Al Franken in Minnesota’s Senate race. However, the razor thin margin has triggered a mandatory recount law, which may take several weeks to conclude.

 Meanwhile, Senator Gordon Smith (R-OR) and Congressman Christopher Shays (R-4th/CT) fell short by very thin margins in their bids for reelection. In the toughest and most expensive Senate race Oregon has ever seen, Senator Gordon Smith (R-OR) lost to Democratic challenger Jeff Merkly. The race remained too close to call until Thursday morning. Investment banker James Himes defeated Congressman Christopher Shays of Connecticut by 3% points. Christopher Shays is the last House Republican from New England and is the first sponsor of House Resolution 476 condemning discrimination and bigotry against Iranian Americans.

 IAPAC is the connected PAC of the Public Affairs Alliance of Iranian Americans (PAAIA). IAPAC contributes to candidates for public office, regardless of their party affiliation, who are attuned to the domestic concerns of the Iranian American community. IAPAC focuses exclusively on domestic policy issues such as civil rights and immigration, and encourages Americans of Iranian descent to actively participate in the American electoral process.

 IAPAC contributes to candidates who have an exceptional track record on the domestic issues of importance to the Iranian American community, have articulated a readiness to engage and work with Iranian Americans, or are in a position to have influence over the domestic legislative issues of concern to the community. Foreign policy issues are not taken into consideration for supporting or opposing a particular candidate, including a particular candidate's views or activities with respect to the Iranian government.

 The triumphant candidates are listed here. An asterisk (*) denotes incumbency.

Norm Coleman (R), Minnesota

Senator Susan Collins (R), Maine*

Senator John Kerry (D), Massachusetts*

Senator Frank Lautenberg (D), New Jersey*

Mark Warner (D), Virginia

John Campbell (R), California 48th *

Kristen Gillibrand (D), New York 20th *

Mike Honda (D), California 15th *

Carolyn Maloney (D), New York 14th *

John Mica (R), Florida 7th *

Patrick Murphy (D), Pennsylvania 8th *

Loretta Sanchez (D), California 47th *

Niki Tsongas (D), Massachusetts 5th *

Henry Waxman (D), California 30th *

Frank Wolf (R), Virginia 10th *